7.4.8

The \$618 million spent on education was 7.8% of Manitoba's Gross Provincial Product and represented \$605 per capita.

Two provincial departments have been established: a department of education and a department of college and university affairs. One minister may be responsible for both, but each structure has its own officials at the deputy minister level and below.

Local administration of elementary and secondary education is based on a variety of units: multi-district divisions, unitary school divisions, remote school districts, special revenue districts and special schools in sparse communities. School divisions and districts are under the jurisdiction of an elected board of trustees; special schools are administered by a trustee appointed by the provincial cabinet. No legal provision is made for separate schools.

The compulsory ages are 7 to 16. Elementary-secondary education lasts 12 years, and is organized into a six-year elementary segment, and three years each of junior and senior high school. However, where enrolment is low the pattern of eight elementary and four secondary years prevails. Final examinations are set and marked under the auspices of a high school examination board.

In high school, vocational students may take pre-employment commercial or industrial programs. There is also an occupational entrance program commencing at grade 7 and continuing until grade 10 or 11. A number of vocational secondary schools have been constructed in co-operation with federal authorities.

Support from the federal labour department helped establish an institute of technology in Winnipeg. This facility and vocational centres in Brandon and The Pas were designated community colleges in 1969. They offer post-secondary career and vocational courses. Although no provision is made for university transfer, in special circumstances graduates of career programs have been granted credits applicable to a degree. Registered nurses' training is provided at one college and at five hospital schools.

The province has three universities but only the largest, the University of Manitoba, has a faculty of graduate studies. In addition, four colleges (two associated with universities) grant degrees to students training for church ministry.

Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan's 1976-77 education expenditure of \$543 million represented a per capita outlay of \$589. It was equivalent to 7.5% of the Gross Provincial Product. Elementary and secondary enrolment totalled 226,700, and teachers numbered 11,130. In post-secondary non-university institutions, 350 teachers taught 2,390 full-time students, and in universities the corresponding figures were 1,370 and 15,000.

Two departments — education and continuing education — report through the same minister, but have separate structures. The latter was established in 1972 to handle all post-secondary matters.

The province is divided into eight education regions, and subdivided into 66 school units plus non-unit rural districts, villages, towns and cities. Local administration is based on districts, which may be set up for public and Protestant or Roman Catholic separate schools. School boards of five to eight members are elected in each district for three-year terms. Education in northern areas is administered by a department for Northern Saskatchewan.

Attendance is compulsory from 7 to 16 years, although kindergarten is available, particularly in larger centres. The traditional 12 elementary-secondary grades have been reorganized into four three-year divisions. Prospective grade 12 graduates must write standard departmental examinations.

High schools offer vocational subjects in general, industrial arts, commercial or special terminal programs, none of which qualify students for university entrance. The content of such courses is co-ordinated with the province's two community colleges and three technical institutes. Agricultural courses are given throughout the province in cooperation with the provincial agriculture department and apprenticeship training is provided in conjunction with the labour department. All nursing instruction is given by community colleges.